Boom Racing’s Knuckle Conversion.

Hey gang!! Well, it’s very rare that I blog about a part, or parts, but I feel that is going to change! I have a new product that I was excited to try out, loved the results, and decided it was blog worthy!

Boom Racing has delivered on a product that I think everyone needs to take a look at! I was trolling their website when I saw this little no big deal picture of some funny looking hubs, and links. I clicked on the description and all it said was, Front Hub Conversion for SCX10. So, I said. Well, that looks like it may be a sweet setup and may give me more steering. In the cart it went, a week later it arrived at my door step!

 

Boom Racing’s C-Hub Comversion

 
As you can see in the picture, I am attaching these new knuckles to my PHAT axle and aluminum C-Hubs. The install was harmless, as most are, and went together without an issue. The links, ball ends, all fit perfectly. I had them mounted up and ready for servo hook up in less than twenty minutes.

Oh, she can steer alright

Up next was installing the wheels and tires. I chose to use the new Krait Sandstones’s for this build, and Pitbull RCX Rock Beasts. “Smaller tires make better drivers” – Desmond Mooney 

One thing you want to remember is that the new knuckle arms are straight out, so your tire may rub the rodennds. To help offset that rubbing; using a wider hex hub may be on the list of needs. Check Traxxas, Axial, Boom, KNK Hardware, for some wider hexes.

Here below in this picture is the Boom Racing Knuckle Conversion, and the coveted XRMOD. The steering angles are close with XRMOD edging out with a full spring to spring touch, while Boom’s is just a touch shy of the full spring to spring touch.  Plus, the XRMOD has many more advantages than most steering set ups. 

Boom conversion on left, XRMOD on the right.

First impressions are everything with me.If anything these new Boom Racing Knuckles do, is help over stock steering and for a great price. I have used these hard, and at one competition already and they have not failed me yet. I am very happy and would recommend them to anyone looking for a budget benfit steering up grade! 

Leave a comment