Return of the Goat/ Chassis work.

I decided to get started on the chassis so I can get the interior started for the Escalade. I devided to bring back the RC4WD R2 transmission that I started the OG Goat with. 

I started with using a blank TJ RC Products Skid. I wanted a flat skid, and a place to throw the transfer case on. The skid is to thick for the SCX10 chassis, so the dremel tool came out, and cut out the bottom plates off the rails. 

TJ RC Products high clearance skid.


After I got the skid fitted I moved to the front. I had to do what I did last time for the R2 trans. I cut out the notches of the frame rails so they would sit flush on the R2. This does weaken the frame rails, but I have run this set up hard before and haven’t had any issues. 

Making room for the bulky R2.


R2 bolted into it’s new home.


After I got the whole thing set up, I threw the front axle back on, and got the shock towers on with some spacers. These are temporarily on there until I decide what to do for the front suspension. This is all mocked up, and I will change the 3-link to a 4-link when it’s go time. 

I have it all set-up and I’m ready to get into the next thing. I need to attach the transfer case to the skid next time I’m in the shop. Making some head way on The Goat, and loving it so far. 


Leave a comment