48 Hour Challenge part 2

Second update coming to you from the Vermont Scale RC Studio!!! Progress?? I think so!! I have been slacking hard this month, but with a new shipment of parts, I have been forced into build mode!

There have been a few changes, and with that comes new challenges! The best part of building a custom chassis, is figuring out where everything will go, and how it will all work.

  
  
With the CBE RC FAB Switchback chassis and Shock Gear towers on, and Boom Racing Transmission in and the Holmes Hobbies 13t Crawl Master bolted up, we move onto hanging the axles. 

For this years 48 Hour Challenge I decided to use some new products and see how they hold up to 48 Hours of constant abuse. I decided to use the PHAT™ axles from Boom Racing. Weighing in at 180grams, these steel axles will give me a forced COG. I am making this build a belly dragger, and to have a high center of gravity is a no go. 

  
For suspension I decided to run 90mm & 100mm Type I shocks from Boom Racing as well. I have used this shock setup once on another build and it has served well on the trails of Vermont and the Griptastic rocks in Nevada. I’m not 100% sure why this set up works well for my driving style, but it just seems to work well for me. 

We have the ride height set, and the shocks are exactly where I want them. The CBE RC FAB shockgear towers just rule the tune-ability factor! Digging them a lot, and I like that I can easly get to them to change shock postion if need be. 

  

Up next is battery the battery plate. With all the options on locations from the Switchback Chassis I was able to mount my battery in a place I normally couldn’t. I actually dig this spot a lot. Keeps the balance centered, and low. The BPC battery mount is my favorite by far and is staple piece in all my RC’s. All I did was mount the tabs from the plate too the top of the integrated link risers on thr chassis! Easiest mount to date!  

 
In the next install, we cover body, lights, and accesories!! The 48 Hour Jeep is coming together and ready for some action!

Leave a comment