Hello Komodo

KOMODO Review –
So as luck would have it, I have in my possession, not one but two Gmade Komodo kits. One RTR, and one half built. I have wanted one of these RC’s for a while now, and I have two. Today I’m going to dive into first looks, and first run.

When I look at the Komodo I am impressed first off with the body, and the attention to scale detail. Gmade provides you with most scale items you’d find on a weekend warrior, mild trail truck. All ABS style plastic scale parts, as the body is a thick lexan mold. The frame is chrome, and shiny, not my favorite, but what can you do? The axles are light, and smaller than your SCX10 axle housings which is a benefit to wheelers that drive on big rocks. The links are short, but provide ample articulation for such a short set up. The wheel base is about 11″ from center hub to center hub.   

The electronics box is a great scale idea looking like an engine. There’s an enclosure to keep dirt and dust off you RX, and a platform to mount your ESC. The back has two braces and reusable zip ties to hold your battery into place. The drive shafts are that plastic you’ve come to know very well, and look like they maybe the first upgrade in my opinion. The transmission is all enclosed with plastic gears, with out an option for metal ones, this maybe the breaking point of this RC.
 
So, with both Komodo’s the shocks that came with the Komodo kit were swiped, and stock Axial shocks and RC4WD Kings were left on the frames, so I can not tell you about how good the Komodo stock shocks are or not. The stock tires and wheels came with one kit and none on the other. I have not used the stock tires or wheels as I write this, as they are sitting on the bench under another project. I decided to use the best stock set-up I had to give the Komodo a true honest review. I prefer to have traction, so I threw on my favorite Pitbull tires the Rock Beasts wrapped around Boom Racing’s Krait wheels.
 
For electronics I used the Axial AE-5 and my Spektrum. I charged up my 3S 2200 and headed to my wheeling spot at Hard’ack. At first first pull I knew I had a little speedster on my hands. She snapped the left front tire up, and I sighed as I knew I was in for a long day of learning how to drive with extreme torque twist again. I didn’t let it bother me to much, as I jumped the Komodo off the rocks and dirt mounds, and watching it launch with ease made me smile. I tooled around some of the usual spots and watched it struggle where I normally crawl right up. I had a few spots I wanted to hit to see how it faired in a wheelers play ground. 
  
I had some fun trying to get that long Ford body through the steep spots as the bed dug holes where you normally don’t deal with on a wheeler. Once I learned how to drive with a big body, lots of power, and torque twist I found myself smiling, as this little Komodo impressed me more and more. I was climbing spots very well, getting through area’s I shouldn’t have been able to go through. I think the extra horses may have helped with that! But alas, it was those same horses that ended my first run with a stripped gear. Whoomp whoomp. 
I have a list of upgrades that Gmade makes for the Komodo and will get them as soon as I can. I also will be trying the transmission flip to get the motor up front rather than in the rear to help eliminate the torque twist. It really is worse than any other rc’s I have wheeled. The only down fall that I have seen, and possible draw back is there are no metal transmission gears…. So, we shall see.   

First impressions are this is a cool, and stable rc! On a scale adventure rig I’d give it an 8.5 with a combination of scale appeal, rock solid performance on mild trails, and fun factor is why I give it a higher rating. 
For wheelers I give it a solid 4.5, it would be a 5 but not even a full battery and it stripped a gear. 
My plans are simple, take this adventure scale style rc and turn it into a capable wheeling machine. A few subtle changes and I think this Gmade Komodo can be a force on the big boy terrain. That is all based on hoping the transmission can handle the abuse. If not, another makers transmission may find it’s way onto this RC. 
Overall rating is a 6.5 I would recommend the G-Made Komodo to any RC’er beginner to vetran wheelers. I feel there is a ton of potential with the Komodo, and plan on proving that this summer! I’ll be posting updates and more reviews in the coming months. 

  

One thought on “Hello Komodo

Leave a comment